Member login 
Coeliac New Zealand Logo

What Alcohol Can I Drink?

Our Guide


When you’re out for drinks with friends or trying to decide which alcohol to buy for a dinner party, it can be tricky to know what is, or isn’t, gluten free. Unlike food, alcoholic drinks don’t need to be labelled with warnings of gluten – and that can cause confusion.

While many alcoholic beverages are naturally gluten free there are some common things to avoid. Unless marked as gluten free, beer should always be assumed to contain gluten. In contrast wine and cider are naturally gluten free, however spirits can be harder to know for sure but are nearly always gluten free. Take our handy gluten free alcohol guide below along with you to restaurants and liquor stores if you’re unsure!

Gluten Free Alcohol Options

Wine, sherry, port, and ciders
These are all made from fruit and don’t contain gluten.
Gin, Brandy, Rum, Tequila, Vodka, Bourbon and Whisky
Gin, and other spirits that are made from gluten free ingredients can be safely consumed in moderation by people with coeliac disease. This means anything from bourbon to tequila, sparkling wines, spirits, port, sherry and even cider is safe as part of a gluten free diet. This is due to the distillation process which removes gluten from the spirits, even those that are derived from gluten containing sources. Most research concludes that any gluten is removed during the extensive distillation process, but some people may still react. To be safe, choose vodka made from potatoes, corn, or grapes and avoid ‘single distilled’ spirits or those made from wheat, barley, or rye. Listing ingredients on alcoholic products is however not mandatory, so additional care is necessary.
Usually are gluten free, but could occasionally have something added that contaminates them, so check the label if in doubt.


Gluten and Beer


Drinking Gluten Free


Regular beers are produced by fermenting malt barley or occasionally wheat malt. Whilst the amount of protein present is significantly reduced by fermentation, the gluten proteins are not removed from the end product and are essential for beer quality and presentation. This is in contrast to the distillation process to make spirits.

Choose gluten free beers brewed without gluten-containing grains, as not all test methods used to ascertain whether a beer is gluten free are reliable. If beer claims to have gluten ‘removed’, we suggest investigating further and potentially avoiding it.

For people with coeliac disease, following a strictly gluten-free diet is vital for maintaining your health. Although some people with coeliac disease drink beer in moderation with no immediate ill effects, there is no way to know for sure whether that is causing damage to the lining of the small intestine. We recommend that each individual discusses this issue with their qualified health professional before making the decision to drink beer – or, even better, stick to gluten free alcohol entirely.



Support your charity – the only not-for-profit supporting Kiwis with coeliac disease. Become part of Coeliac New Zealand now.



Volunteering is a great way to grow your community and share your knowledge with others.
Find out how.



Help us reach more people who are suffering from coeliac disease. Contribute to the greater good of your community.




We are always on the look-out for passionate people interested in raising funds and building awareness about coeliac disease


About Coeliac New Zealand


Your partner in
healthy living

Coeliac New Zealand is available throughout your journey. As part of our community, you’ll get support, advice, and assistance. We work with health professionals, manufacturers, and researchers to raise awareness of coeliac disease in NZ.

Together, we can reach a day when every person with coeliac disease gets diagnosed quickly, lives a healthy life, and has the prospect of a cure.


Sharing your lived experience with coeliac disease blank

Thank you to Coeliac NZ member, and volunteer in Whakatane Fiona Hennessey for sharing her lived experience with coeliac disease. "Being diagnosed late in life as a coeliac is challenging enough, without it being in the middle of pandemic food shortages; then try going to work events! I have had some great experiences where the […]

Read More
Understanding the link between Type 1 diabetes and coeliac disease blank

Understanding the difference between Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes. Type 1 Diabetes (T1DM) is an ‘auto-immune’ condition.  The body attacks the insulin making cells and the result is that the body produces no (or very little) insulin.  This form of diabetes is managed through insulin injections (healthy eating and activity are also important). This […]

Read More
Anzac Day 2024. Lest we forget. blank

The acronym ANZAC was first coined at the time of the landing at Gallipoli on 25 April 1915.  It represents the joined brotherhood of Australia and New Zealand Army Corps.  Anzac Day was inaugurated a year later in 1916 to commemorate this first anniversary of the landing. 1 Today, we hold this day high on […]

Read More
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram